Building a Mega Mosquito (part 3)

I put a fillet on top of the centering ring formerly known as rear, and while I was poking glue down there with a stick, I did put a cardboard patch over the hook slot. I’m 99.9% certain it wouldn’t have made any difference to leave it open, but it made me feel better.
IMG_2561

With fins like these, most jigs are useless. I improvised.IMG_2564Given the sheer length of the fins I wanted them glued down pretty securely. So what I should have done, of course, was to ignore the Estes instructions and follow some sort of plan involving gluing on the front rear centering ring after the fins were in place, with internal fillets. Failing to have done that, I used yellow glue for the first external fillet application — I don’t know for sure, but my guess is it’s a stronger bond than you get with No-Drip, No-Run, which I used for the final fillets.IMG_2565

And that’s most of what’s needed before priming. I guess the nose cone needs some attention… oh, and launch lugs, let’s not forget them. Or rail buttons? I could do rail buttons. Hm. Anyway, here’s both Mosquitos as they stand (and boy, do they ever stand):IMG_2566

Leave a Reply

