NYPower 18, Day 2: The slow dry

Today at NYPower 18 things were not quite as muddy as yesterday. The grass was still tall, and in places the ground was still under several inches of water, but at least I didn’t feel compelled to wear the high Muck Boots all day. Just on retrievals.

I ended up putting up only two rockets, once each. One was the Razor on a C6-5 — just about eight times the impulse of its one previous flight! But there was a reason. Again, I didn’t want to fly my Yankee, but I did want to get an idea of how well the streamer I made for the NARTREK flight would work. Very roughly, I figured, the Razor on a C6 might go to about the same altitude as the Yankee on a B. (I haven’t verified that with anything but intuition, yet.) And it should come down faster. And if it got lost or soaked, well, it was free. So I put the NARTREK streamer on the Razor and launched it.

IMG_2633 MVI_2634Launch was fine. It hit the ground 46 seconds later and was found in good shape. Given low winds and clear skies, I think the streamer will work fine with the Yankee.

I also launched the Mega Mosquito again, this time on an E9-6. I’m not sure, but I think we never launched the Eggscaliber on an E, at least not under my name, so this would be my first E flight. It all went just fine.

MVI_2636

Aside from those two flights I mostly just hung out under the SRC/URRG tent or at the flight line for the day, watched rockets, and socialized. I wasn’t really itching to get anything else up there, not with the high grass and wet ground. I thought about another D10-5W flight but decided I didn’t have any rockets I wanted to put one in. Kenny sent his Ascender and Code Red up on an F15-6 and a C6-5 again, though the latter took three tries. Other members of the Syracuse Rocket Club had some flights of interest. Mark Riffle sent one up over 6000 feet only to have the main chute deploy at apogee. That was not the plan. The big red chute was easily visible and I was astonished to see it come down, over the course of many minutes, without seeming to get any further away. It landed in front of the trees on the clear field next door for an easy recovery. Well, easy for a mile-plus under canopy. Paul Gagnon, who put his Ultimate Wildman up on an L yesterday, launched the same rocket today on an M for his Level 3 certification. Looked to me like it went perfectly, so congratulations, Paul.

 

 

One thought on “NYPower 18, Day 2: The slow dry

  1. Custom says “Flies over 1,000 feet with a C6-7 motor.” OpenRocket predicts 885 feet for the Yankee. Weight at burnout should be about 56 g (Razor), 20 g (Yankee); with velocity proportional to the square root of the mass, that gives a factor of 1.7. So (46 s) * (885/1000) * 1.7 = 69 seconds predicted (!). Very rough estimate of course, but says it should be good with plenty of margin. In fact OR predicts 515 feet for the Yankee on an A8-3, which gives 40 seconds! Hmm.

Leave a Reply

