Building the Estes Ventris (part 2)

Fillets.

IMG_2695Oh yeah. Spirals. I decided this time not to fill them. The primaries are practically invisible. The secondaries aren’t but I think they’ll be okay after priming and sanding, and if not, no big deal.

So then I glued together the body tube. I marked the coupler halfway, applied generous amounts of tacky glue inside the lower body tube, and pushed the coupler in up to the mark. Then I paused. Then I tried twisting the coupler. Couldn’t. Frozen.

So no, I no longer believe in tacky glue’s supposed grab-free nature. I’m lucky I didn’t get burned by it. As of the other end of that coupler I’m back to epoxy for tight fit parts. But first I taped a cotton swab to a dowel (having read Chris Michielssen’s blog yesterday) and cleaned up the excess tacky glue that was running down the inside of the tube…

 

One thought on “Building the Estes Ventris (part 2)

  1. Pingback: Unstuck | Rich's Rockets

Leave a Reply

