Repair time II

I thought the Test to Destruction popped a fin at the root. Turns out the fin broke in two near the root edge. What can I say, I built it to survive flight and recovery, not small children.

I was surprised to discover I could peel the paper lamination cleanly off most of the fin’s surface.

IMG_3263

The places where it stuck best were around the edges (more so on the other side than the side pictured), presumably due to the CA I used there. Primarily I’d used spray adhesive to stick the paper down. I think the only papered fins I’ve done after the TtD (Patrioony was done about the same time) are the Rocket Doctors Recommend Most, and on that I used glue stick. In a quick and very unscientific test I just did, glue stick did a better job.

Anyway, the TtD now has a new fin, papered using glue stick. You can’t even tell which is the replacement, can you?

IMG_3268

Once the fillets dry I’ll put this aside until painting weather. That’s all the repairs for now. Back to building!

 

Leave a Reply

