Rocketry goals review for Jan/Feb 2015

Let’s see how those goals are going. Goals for 2015, I mean. Not 2005, as I wrote in my (now corrected) “Fun with 2015” post. I don’t procrastinate that much. Well, not always.

  1. Level 1 certification
    Nothing happening on this yet. The February club meeting, hence the presentation on high power certification, was first postponed and then canceled (something about a couple of back to back 1-foot snowfalls). Not sure if it’ll be done at the March meeting; I hope so.
  2. Fly an I motor
    Obviously not.
  3. Put an entry (however pathetic) into at least four club launch contests and four club launch themes
    I decided what I want to do about the ½A cluster duration contest. Worked on a sim for that, bought a kit, and completed assembly. Bought my kit for the helicopter duration contest.
  4. NARTREK Silver
    Put together the Ranger clone for the cluster requirement.
  5. Complete all rockets in progress or in the build pile as of 1 Jan 2015 (see first 10 entries in table below)
    Finished assembly on the Xarconian Cruiser and the Ranger.
  6. Adhere to a budget
    About $3 over budget at the moment. Tsk. But that’s just me buying kits a little earlier than I’d figured on… not buying more. I now have a spreadsheet going to help me figure out what to buy and when.
  7. Fly lots of stuff
    Getting ready to, but did I mention back to back 1-foot snowfalls? How about the coldest month in Syracuse history? It’s building season, follks.
  8. Have fun
    Did I mention back to back 1-foot snowfalls? How about the coldest month in Syracuse history?

Victories and notable activities other than the above:

  1. Didn’t freeze to death.
  2. Put out 1st issue of What’s Up.
  3. Worked on design of a C6-3 burner. (I’m rethinking my plan of building a 2×18 powered Super Big Bertha clone; instead I’ve got a preliminary design for a scratch build, as yet unnamed.)

Planned 2015 builds:

Rocket Status as of 1 March 2015  Notes
In progress as of 1 Jan 2015:
Starlight Saber 1st primer on
Shrockets Sea Sting 1st primer on
Quest MLAS Partly assembled
Estes D-Region Tomahawk Assembled  For NARTREK Silver
Estes Xarconian Cruiser Assembled
In build pile as of 1 Jan 2015:
Estes (clone) Fat Boy Build pile Bash from Mega Mosquito
(scratch) Micro Fat Boy Build pile Bash from Mosquito; need fin stock, MMX mount parts
Estes Big Daddy Build pile Estes warranty replacement for cato damaged Lunar Eclipse Jr.
Estes (clone) Ranger Assembled  For NARTREK Silver
Excelsior Honest Goon Build pile
Acquired or plan to acquire in 2015 (for goals):
FlisKits Rose-a-Roc Build pile For August launch contest
Squirrel Works Callisto (modified) Assembled For June launch contest; need some additional parts
unspecified Level 1 rocket To acquire Need to choose and buy kit
Acquired or thinking of acquiring in 2015 (other):
ASP or Semroc V-2 (18 mm) Some parts in hand Have decals (for White Sands Round 3), need kit. Build if I decide not to use DRT for NARTREK Silver (or if I feel like it!)
Estes (clone) Super Big Bertha C6-3 burner Some parts in hand Working on design, will presumably need to get parts
Excelsior Nike-G Some parts in hand Have decals and fin stock, need Baby Bertha kit
Excelsior Pink Mini Max Some parts in hand Have decals, need Mini Max kit
One thought on “Rocketry goals review for Jan/Feb 2015

  1. I built a Super Big Bertha last year (removable motor mounts). Flew beautifully at Geneseo on a D12-3. Next flight will be a pair of C6-3s.

Leave a Reply

