Building the (scratch) R13 (part 2)

Next I kludged up a long BT-50 to ST-115 centering ring. I cut another short piece of ST-115 and cut out a strip to make it a slip fit into the body tube; then I added three layers of 90# index cardstock. Here it’s glued up, dry fit inside the end of my leftover ST-115 to keep it round.IMG_7923 Once that was done I glued it onto a piece of BT-50 and then glued that into the front end of the airframe.IMG_7929 There’s more to be done on the front end but it’s time to take care of the back first. I printed out my cone template from OpenRocket, twice, on cardstock and cut both out. Two because I’m making a double layer cone. I omitted the gluing tab.IMG_7934 There needs to be a slot for the launch lug, and it needs to be in different positions on the two pieces so I can offset the cone seams. I’m not sure exactly how long the slots should be but I used OpenRocket to make an educated guess.IMG_7937I cut the slots out, but not all the way to the front edge, for now at least.

IMG_7940 Then I made the cones. I used bond paper tabs on the inside surfaces, so the seams are butted rather than overlapping.IMG_7944 Meanwhile I also made an ST-7 to BT-80 centering ring by the expedient of gluing an ST-7 to ST-115 ring onto a BT-50 to BT-80 ring. I cut a notch for motor hook clearance.IMG_7950

Once the cones were ready I selected the one I liked better and glued the other inside it. I trimmed the part of the inner cone that was sticking out the back. Then I dry fit the cone, motor mount, and big centering ring.
IMG_7953

Finally I pulled the cone forward, applied glue on the outside of the body tube just where the front edge of the cone had been, and slid the cone back to place.

Leave a Reply

