Building the LOC Norad (part 2)

 

A few increments of progress on the Norad. I glued the motor mount into the lower body tube and scraped and sanded the seams on the nose and transition.

Looking ahead, I decided on a modification. I have seen literally hundreds of LOC kits flown with LOC style shock cord mounts, many of them made by middle school kids who were literally building their first rocket, and almost none of them have failed. On the first flight, anyway. Still, I didn’t feel as confident of nylon string, masking tape, and epoxy at the front end of the body tube as I did toward Kevlar and a mechanical anchor at the transition. So I drilled two holes in the front end of the transition and threaded my Kevlar through them.

IMG_0030 The transition’s been glued in.IMG_0033

Leave a Reply

