Building the NewWay Square In the Air (part 3)

I wanted to darken the plywood edges, so I tried applying some cherry stain. It didn’t fully obliterate the ply structure but it did soak into the wood fibers, visible around the edges of the top surface. So I said what the heck and applied cherry stain to all the cherry veneer.

Then I found the bottle of Tru-Oil I used some time ago on a ukulele, and I applied it here. Not as many coats as on the ukuele, but then a ukulele doesn’t need to fly into the air on an 18 mm motor. (Or does it? Hmmm… NO.)

There’s a couple spots where I’d carelessly gotten glue on the veneer. That’s okay, they add character, right? Just say “right”.

Leave a Reply

