Building the ASP V-2 (part 6)

So that took a while.

I bought the Semroc 18mm V-2 kit in August 2013. Bought decals for the White Sands No. 3 from Excelsior in September 2013.

I started building in January 2014. I did a bad job of it and abandoned the build in July 2014.

I learned in February 2016 that Semroc would not be reissuing the V-2 kit, and the next day I bought the ASP kit.

I started building it in November 2016.

I finally got the fins on in May 2017.

Then I procrastinated until September 2018 on doing the little detail pieces. I primed and painted the wrong base color. Winter set in.

A month or so ago I painted the right base color. This month I masked, painted the black, applied the decals, did the finishing touches. Just under six years from when I set out to build a V-2, it’s done.

The color scheme is White Sands No. 3 from here, but that diagram doesn’t show the metallic horizontal bands clearly visible in photos. (Probably a steel color rather than the chrome I used, but I had the chrome Trim Monokote on hand and figured it was good enough.)

Leave a comment