Canopy fix

I have a Coleman 10′ x 10′ canopy, model number 2000012704, a few years old. At July’s launch my son was taking it down when one of the lower peak truss bars bent at the hinge and broke.

After some googling I found there’s a vendor on Amazon, Coleman Replacement Parts, that sells, well, what you’d think, including canopy lower peak truss bars. They aren’t listed by model number but they give measurements. I found one whose lengths corresponded to mine; I was a bit concerned because they showed the width and thickness as 13/16″ by 7/16″, and I measured mine at 3/4″ by 3/8″, but I ordered anyway and it turned out to be exactly the right part.

This thing’s built to be repaired. Everything is held together with (metric) Allen screws and nuts. It took me only a few minutes to take out the broken bar and put in the replacement. We put it up at yesterday’s launch and it was good as new.

Cost: $18.48 with free Prime next day shipping. A whole lot better than buying a new canopy.

Leave a comment