Building the [scratch] Roll Model (part 2)

As for the top plate: Glue it on, or no? If glued, that would have to be after installing the LED rings, which would have to be after painting. And then there would be no way to change out a ring whose batteries have run down. (The rings aren’t built for battery changes. You’d have to cut them open to do it.) Friction should be sufficient to hold the top plate on, though. So I decided not to glue it… for now. I can always glue it later if I change my mind. Anyway, this was the point where painting needed to happen. I did that with the top plate on, leaving bare cardboard at the joints to glue to if I do ever glue it.

Finally I stretched the rings onto the posts and pushed the top plate on. Done. Kind of rough looking but for a night launch rocket, that’s fine.

Leave a comment