Building the [scratch] Mega Sprite (part 9)

Sorry about how long it’s been since I updated you on this project. Here’s where it’s progressed to:

So yeah. Into the trash with it. I did such a sloppy job making and mounting the fins that I decided to go right back to square two. Square one being the ring fin, which is round, not square, and which I’m still satisfied with. That and the rear centering ring and the nose cone I can use. The rest is a do over.

I’d show you pictures of what I did next but they’d be awfully repetitious. Besides, I didn’t take any. I avoided the previous mistakes and made new ones. Nothing a coat of paint can’t cover up though.

I caught up to where I’d been before, plus a little more ― gluing in the rear centering ring.

I’ve started cutting out the fin tips. Cutting curved parts out of three laminated layers of balsa’s not the most fun thing I’ve ever done. The first one at least is kind of messy but should come out okay in the end.

One thought on “Building the [scratch] Mega Sprite (part 9)

  1. I don’t know that I’ve ever actually thrown one out. I always revert to the “You’ve got an ultimate set of Xactos. You can fix it!” Occasionally, I do just that. That said, when I was grilling on the patio next to the shop on Sunday, I did notice my 17 year old attempt at a handmade Sprite sitting on the floor by my desk. Not sure I’d have the stones to try an upscale, but the Super Sprite from Hawk’s Hobby was on my list after seeing Bunny’s at NSL in 2007.

Leave a comment